You are here
Jim Nantz, Fred Couples, Blaine McAllister, and Houton Coach Dave Williams Cougar Golf Featured Major Winners Men's Golf National Champs Tradition 

Dave Williams: The Father Of College Golf

Dave Williams: The Father of College Golf “All I’ve ever tried to do besides win is raise college golf to a higher level of appreciation. I wanted us to be recognized as athletes, because that’s what we are.” – Dave Williams Former UH golf coach Dave Williams is considered the “Father of College Golf.” And for good reason: his teams won: 16 national titles. 14 conference titles. 340 tournaments, and he coached 41 All-Americans.  Dave Williams’ resume as the University of Houston golf coach is literally unmatched in all of…

Read More
GCOH Cougar Golf Featured National Champs Tradition 

Golf Club of Houston: The Home of Cougar Golf

  The Tournament Course at The Golf Course of Houston   The Golf Club of Houston (GCOH) and the Tournament Course are the home of the Houston Cougar Golf Teams as well as the Shell Houston Open   Tournament Course The 7,422 yard course is a Rees Jones/David Toms design and hosts the PGA Tour each spring. The course has received stellar reviews from Tour players on a yearly basis. Today, the SHO is the lead-in to the Masters each Spring.   GCOH transforms the Tournament Course each winter in…

Read More
Cougar Golf - 1984 NCAA Champs Champions Cougar Golf Featured Major Winners Men's Golf National Champs Tradition 

Cougar Golf: 16-Time National Champs!

COUGAR NATIONAL TITLES 1956 • 1957 • 1958 • 1959 • 1960 • 1962 • 1964 • 1965 • 1966 • 1967 • 1969 • 1970 • 1977 • 1982 • 1984 • 1985   National Runner Up: 1963, 1968, 1971, 1972   Individual National Champions: Rex Baxter, 1957  NYT Article Phil Rodgers – 1958 Dick Crawford – 1959 Dick Crawford – 1960 Kermit Zarley – 1962 Marty Fleckman – 1965 John Mahaffey – 1970 Billy Ray Brown – 1982   to be continued … 

Read More